Board of Directors

Western States School of Banking’s Board of Directors has been the backbone of the Western States School of Banking for its entire 44-year history.  The intense curriculum and classes, created by and for banking executives, have been strategically chosen to reflect current challenges in the banking industry and to include practical, industry-relevant topics.

WSSB’s volunteer Board is dedicated to strengthening community banks and their most valuable assets: dedicated and talented employees. The two year bachelor-level Certificate offered through the Western States School of Banking has an immediate ROI for the sponsoring bank or organization that sends its best and brightest employees. Students come to WSSB and in the process, bankers emerge.

Our Board is comprised of hard-working banking professionals who design a curriculum founded on best practices and principles that can be applied immediately. With industry challenges in constant flux, nothing less than a cutting-edge and constantly reviewed program will meet the ever-changing career challenges of your most valuable employees.

Executive Board

Bret Moody, Chairman
President/Managing Officer
First American Bank
Hobbs, NM

Floyd Morelos, Chair-Elect
Vice President/Marketing Director
Century Bank
Santa Fe, NM

Florine Morrison, Treasurer
Chief Operating Officer/Chief Financial Officer
First National Bank of Durango
Durango, CO

Board of Directors

John Anderson
Executive Vice President
New Mexico Bankers Association
Albuquerque, NM

Jennifer L. Carey
Loan Processor/2016 Class President
The Bank of Clovis
Clovis, NM

Lana Coffman
Chief Financial Officer
International Bank
Raton, NM

Brandy Darden
Senior Vice President/2018 Class President
Western Heritage Bank
Las Cruces, NM

Jeff Higgins
Chief Information Technology Manager
FMS Bank
Fort Morgan, CO

Rob Holt
Senior Vice President
 North Valley Bank

Thornton, CO

Henry Jaramillo
Member Emeritus
Belen, New Mexico

Mike Morrison
Vice President/Senior Lender
First State Bank of New Castle
New Castle, WY

Ed Robertson
President & CEO
ICBA/NM Representative
Belen, NM

Donald G. Simonson
Banking Professor Emeritus
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM

Sonya Struck
Operations Management/2017 Class President
Centinel Bank of Taos
Taos, NM

Angie Torres
Assistant Vice President
First American Bank
Las Cruces, NM

Barbara Walker
Executive Director
Independent Bankers of Colorado
Denver, CO

Ron Wiser
President/Chief Executive Officer
Bank of the Southwest
Roswell, NM